Tesseract’s Daniel Tompkins reveals new solo track Black The Sun

Daniel Tompkins (Image credit: Steve Brown)

Tesseract frontman Daniel Tompkins has released a stream of his new single Black The Sun.

It’s the latest track to be taken from his upcoming solo album Castles, which will launch this Friday (May 31) through Kscope. Tompkins previously shared Saved and Limitless (opens in new tab) from the record.

Speaking about the track, Tompkins says: “Black The Sun was the first track to be written for Castles. The feeling and vibe of this song inspired the whole record and was really the starting point for the project. 

“The song is essentially my prog rock ballad! The song is about trying to liberate yourself from a delicate relationship. I think the lyrics are quite cathartic in nature and touch on the idea that love is blinding and that lust can consume us whole. 

“The track will no doubt be a favourite among the Tesseract following as it boasts a guitar driven chorus with strong soaring vocals.”

Castles will feature a total of 13 tracks, with six of them alternative versions featuring special guests Acle Kahney, Head Rework, Randy Slaugh, Paul Ortiz and Dmitry Stepanov. 

Daniel Tompkins: Castles
1. Saved
2. Black The Sun
3. Castles
4. Kiss
5. Limitless
6. Cinders
7. Telegraph
8. Black The Sun (Head Rework)
9. Limitless (feat. Dmitry Stepanov)
10. Kiss (feat. Randy Slaugh)
11. Saved (feat. Acle Kahney)
12. Saved (feat. Paul Ortiz)
13. Saved (feat. Randy Slaugh)

Daniel Tompkins: Castles (opens in new tab)

Daniel Tompkins: Castles (opens in new tab)
Tesseract frontman Daniel Tompkins will release his new solo album Castles on May 31 through Kscope. The record features the lead tracks Saved, Limitless and Black The Sun.

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.