Sufjan Stevens names album after his parents

Sufjan Stevens will release an album named after his parents next month.

Carrie & Lowell is described as a return to his folk roots, and a hint of its contents can be heard in the trailer video below.

Stevens says the 11-track work is a reflection on “life and death, love and loss – and the artist’s struggle to make sense of the beauty and ugliness of love.”

It’s to be launched on March 31 via Asthmatic Kitty.


  1. Death With Dignity

  2. Should Have Known Better

  3. All Of Me Wants All Of You

  4. Drawn To The Blood

  5. Fourth Of July

  6. The Only Thing

  7. Carrie & Lowell

  8. Eugene

  9. John My Beloved

  10. No Shade In The Shadow Of The Cross

  11. Blue Bucket Of Gold

Freelance Online News Contributor

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history, including SAHB Story: The Tale of the Sensational Alex Harvey Band, a band he once managed, and the best-selling Apollo Memories about the history of the legendary and infamous Glasgow Apollo. Martin has written for Classic Rock and Prog and at one time had written more articles for Louder than anyone else (we think he's second now). He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.