Suede detail new album The Blue Hour

(Image credit: Maria Jefferis)
Suede - The Blue Hour

1. As One
2. Wastelands
3. Mistress
4. Beyond The Outskirts
5. Chalk Circles
6. Cold Hands
7. Life Is Golden
8. Roadkill
9. Tides
10. Don’t Be Afraid If Nobody Loves You
11. Dead Bird
12. All The Wild Places
13. The Invisibles
14. Flytipping 


Suede have announced that they’ll release their new album The Blue Hour later this year.

The follow-up to to 2016’s Night Thoughts was produced by Alan Moulder and recorded at London’s Assault & Battery Studios. It will arrive on September 21.

To mark the announcement, the band have released a trailer for the record, which can be seen below.

The album will include a choir, spoken word passages and will feature the City Of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra. 

It was written as a continuous piece, with all 14 tracks thematically linked. The band explain: “The Blue Hour is the time of day when the light is fading and night is closing in. 

“The songs hint at a narrative but never quite reveal it and never quite explain. But as with any Suede album, it’s always about the songwriting. The band, the passion and the noise: The Blue Hour.”

Suede are expected to announce live dates in the near future. 

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.