Skip to main content

Steven Wilson invites fans to remix Personal Shopper

Steven Wilson
Steven Wilson (Image credit: Andrew Hobbs)

In March, Steven Wilson (opens in new tab) released his single titled Personal Shopper (opens in new tab).

It was the first material lifted from his upcoming studio album The Future Bites, which was recently delayed until January 2021 (opens in new tab) due to the coronavirus pandemic.

And with the follow-up to 2017’s To The Bone still months away, Wilson wants to keep fans entertained and is inviting them to dive into Personal Shopper and remix it.

Wilson says: “I thought it would be fun to make available stems for my recent single Personal Shopper. The track seems to lend itself well to remixing, in fact there are already some interesting versions on YouTube – check out the Nine Inch Nails/Personal Shopper mash-up.

“You can do a mix just for your own entertainment, but I'd also love it if you upload for me to listen to. All you need to do is register via the The Future Bites website to get a download link for the stems. You can then submit your mix any time over the next month by filling out the form on the website and providing a Soundcloud link to your track.

“Once the closing date has passed I will choose my favourites and feature them on my Soundcloud page (opens in new tab).”

Wilson adds: “At this point, everyone will be able to listen and vote for their favourites, with the top three then being featured across my social channels.

“I’m excited and curious to hear whatever you choose to do with the track – and the more creative the better. You might want to do something really experimental with it, or you may choose to focus on bringing out the accessible ‘pop’ side of the song, all approaches welcome. Best of luck!”

The Future Bites will be released on January 29 through Caroline International. The album was recorded in London and co-produced by Wilson and David Kosten, while Wilson – in conjunction with Baby and Crystal Spotlight – created an online store designed to be “accessible and addictive to anyone from the casual fan to the hardcore collector.”

(opens in new tab)

Steven Wilson: The Future Bites (opens in new tab)
Steven Wilson will now release his new album The Future Bites in January. The follow-up to 2017's To The Bone features the lead single Personal Shopper.

Steven Wilson: The Future Bites
1. Unself
2. Self
3. King Ghost
4. 12 Things I Forgot
5. Eminent Sleaze
6. Personal Shopper
7. Man Of The People
8. Follower
9. Anyone But Me

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.