Ray Bennett reissues Whatever Falls

Ray Bennett
Ray Bennett

Ray Bennett has reissued his 2001 solo album Whatever Falls.

The former Flash man played bass, guitar and keyboards on the record and also provided lead vocals. He was joined by drummer Mark Pardy, while David Kannenstine contributed bass on two tracks.

Bennett says of the album: “As it was my first solo record I wanted it to be something special. I had taken so long to get around to it I felt sure it would get some serious scrutiny, so, coming from me, with my background, it had to be something worthy of my previous output. A flop wouldn’t do. An OK album wouldn’t do either.

“An album is for all time and intended for repeated listening. Each new listen should be the same pleasurable discovery. Some of my favourite albums are like that and I wanted mine to be too. I feel I succeeded.”

In 2013, the album Flash: Flash Featuring Ray Bennett & Colin Carter was released.

Ray Bennett Whatever Falls tracklist

  1. La Verite Des Miracles
  2. Torn Apart
  3. Under The Wheel
  4. Digging With A Spoon
  5. Ahh!
  6. Stella
  7. Changing
  8. Davey Goes To The Park
  9. Whatever Falls
  10. New West
Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. After initially joining our news desk in the summer of 2014, he moved to the e-commerce team full-time in 2020. He maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott grew up listening to rock and prog, cutting his teeth on bands such as Marillion and Magnum before his focus shifted to alternative and post-punk in the late 80s. His favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Ned's Atomic Dustbin and Drab Majesty, but he also still has a deep love of Rush.