Asia live UK package set for release

Asia in 1990
Asia in 1990 (Image credit: Getty)

Rainman Records have announced that their next release in their British Live Performance Series will feature Asia.

The performance was recorded in Nottingham in 1990 and features bassist and vocalist John Wetton, drummer Carl Palmer, keyboardist Geoff Downes and guitarist Pat Thrall. It’ll launch on June 24.

It features tracks including Only Time Will Tell, Heat Of The Moment, Don’t Cry and The Smile Has Left Your Eyes, which appeared on the band’s Then & Now album, also released in 1990.

Asia’s last studio release was 2014’s Gravitas, which featured guitarist Sam Coulson who replaced Steve Howe in the veteran outfit.

Downes said at the time: “At this stage in our career we don’t answer to anybody. We’re fortunate not to have label dictators like back in the early days.

“You had an A&R guy breathing down your neck who said he didn’t like one song or another. They’re not so much like that – they commission you to do the album and we’ve got free rein in it.”

Asia: British Live Performance Series is available for pre-order (opens in new tab).



Asia: British Live Performance Series tracklist

  1. Wildest Dreams
  2. Sole Survivor
  3. Don’t Cry
  4. Voice Of America
  5. Time Again
  6. Praying For A Miravle
  7. The Smile Has Left Your Eyes
  8. Only Time Will Tell
  9. Days Like These
  10. The Heat Goes On
  11. Go
  12. Heat Of The Moment
  13. Open Your Eyes
Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. After initially joining our news desk in the summer of 2014, he moved to the e-commerce team full-time in 2020. He maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott grew up listening to rock and prog, cutting his teeth on bands such as Marillion and Magnum before his focus shifted to alternative and post-punk in the late 80s. His favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Ned's Atomic Dustbin and Drab Majesty, but he also still has a deep love of Rush.