Punk legends Descendents announce new album 9th & Walnut - and it's been decades in the making

(Image credit: Ed Clover)

Punk legends Descendents have announced a new album. 

9th & Walnut will be released via Epitaph Records on July 23, and will feature recordings made by the Descendents line-up that recorded debut album Milo Goes To College: vocalist Milo Aukerman, bassist Tony Lombardo, drummer Bill Stevenson, and late guitarist Frank Navetta, who died in 2008.

The recordings that make up 9th & Walnut – named after the band's rehearsal space – were made in 2002, a period during which which the band re-recorded instrumental versions of the first 17 songs they wrote together between 1977 and 1980, plus a version of the Dave Clark Five's 1963 hit Glad All Over. Aukerman finally added new vocals last year.  

"We just practiced and practiced," Stevenson tells Rolling Stone, "and we got [the songs] all up to speed. We tried not to upgrade them or make them fancier than they were. We tried to just leave them how they really were back in the day.

The first song to emerge from the new album is Baby Doncha Know, originally written well before Aukerman joined the band. 

"Baby Doncha Know was maybe the fifth song we learned,” says Stevenson. “We would go out to 9th & Walnut every weekend and practice all day. I mainly just remember being in awe of how ‘a kid my age, who goes to my high school’ could have written all these cool songs. 

"Frank seemed to have a maturity beyond his years. I never asked him who or what it was about. I was just happy to be there with him and Tony”.

9th & Walnut is available to pre-order now

9th & Walnut tracklist

  1. Sailor's Choice
  2. Crepe Suzette
  3. You Make Me Sick 
  4. Lullaby 
  5. Nightage
  6. Baby Doncha Know
  7. Tired of Being Tired 
  8. I'm Shaky 
  9. Grudge
  10. Mohicans
  11. Like the Way I Know 
  12. It’s A Hectic World 
  13. To Remember 
  14. Yore Disgusting 
  15. It's My Hair 
  16. I Need Some
  17. Ride the Wild
  18. Glad All Over

Descendents - 9th & Walnut

(Image credit: Epitaph Records)
Fraser Lewry

Online Editor at Louder/Classic Rock magazine since 2014. 38 years in music industry, online for 25. Also bylines for: Metal Hammer, Prog Magazine, The Word Magazine, The Guardian, The New Statesman, Saga, Music365. Former Head of Music at Xfm Radio, A&R at Fiction Records, early blogger, ex-roadie, published author. Once appeared in a Cure video dressed as a cowboy, and thinks any situation can be improved by the introduction of cats. Favourite Serbian trumpeter: Dejan Petrović.