Skip to main content

Gilmour names touring band

David Gilmour has named the members of his solo band, and announced plans for his first-ever South American tour.

The former Pink Floyd man will kick off a run of five December dates in Sao Paulo, Brazil before visiting Argentina and Chile, in support of solo album Rattle That Lock.

He’ll be joined for by guitarist Phil Manzanera, bassist Guy Pratt, keyboardists Jon Carin and Kevin McAlea, drummer Stevie DiStanislao and backing vocalist Bryan Chambers.

Theo Travis will hook up with Gilmour for his previously announced European dates, while fellow saxophonist Joao Mello will play the five nights at London’s Royal Albert Hall and on the South American trip. Backing vocalist Louise Marshall will join the band for shows in the UK and Europe.

Rattle That Lock is out September 18 and now available to pre-order. Gilmour this week released two teasers for his track 5 A.M. from the record. Pink Floyd are the cover stars of the current edition of Classic Rock, out now in print, digital and via TeamRock+.

South American tour dates

Dec 12: Sao Paulo Allianz Palmeiras, Brazil
Dec 14: Curitiba Pedreira Paulo Leminski, Brazil
Dec 16: Porto Alegre Arena do Gremio, Brazil
Dec 18: Buenos Aires Hipodromo de San Isidro
Dec 20: Santiago Estadio Nacional, Chile

Scott Munro

Scott looks after Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 25 years in newspapers and magazines and in 2014 joined our news desk, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more. Scott has previous written for the Daily Record, Sunday Mirror, The Herald and IGN.