Opeth confirm Pale Communion release

Opeth have confirmed the release of their eleventh album – Pale Communion will become available for pre-order next week.

The eight-track record has been mixed by Steven Wilson and will be preceded by the single Cusp Of Eternity, which is to be offered as an instant download with pre-orders.

The follow-up to 2011’s Heritage will be launched in June – mainman Mikael Akerfeldt has said it features many more melodies than their last outing.

He recently told Noisey: “Heritage was deliberately fucked up all over the place, because I love fucked-up-all-over-the-place music. But I wanted to do something more melodic with this album.”

The band are also working on a book about their 25-year history. Publishers Rocket 88 have invited fans to send in their own pictures for use in the title via info@opethbook.com.

Pale Communion tracklist

  1. Eternal Rains Will Come 2. Cusp Of Eternity 3. Moon Above, Sun Below 4. Elysian Woes 5. Goblin 6. River 7. Voice Of Treason 8. Faith In Others
Freelance Online News Contributor

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history, including SAHB Story: The Tale of the Sensational Alex Harvey Band, a band he once managed, and the best-selling Apollo Memories about the history of the legendary and infamous Glasgow Apollo. Martin has written for Classic Rock and Prog and at one time had written more articles for Louder than anyone else (we think he's second now). He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.