North Atlantic Oscillation return with first new album for five years

North Atlantic Oscillation
(Image credit: Press)

Electronic post proggers North Atlantic Oscillation have announced that they will release a brand new studio album, United Wire, through Vineland Music on May 1.

United Wire will be the band's first new studio album since 2018's Grind Show. A track from the new album, Matryoshka, can be heard on the band's website here.

"It's been a strange 5 years, I think we can all agree," NAO's sole remaining member Sam Healy tells Prog. "Some strangeness might have leaked into this album, but there's still a core of optimism under the ectoplasm and rubble. Plus, rubble makes for great percussion."

United Wire will be available as a download and as 300 limited-edition CDs, via the band's label Vineland Music.  You can see the new album artwork and tracklisting below.

North Atlantic Oscillation

(Image credit: Press)

North Atlantic Oscillation: United Wire
1. Clock
2. Corridor
3. Rosewood
4. Glyph
5. Matryoshka
6. Coil
7. Torch
8. Cage
9. Powder

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.