Motorhead archive album unlikely, says Mikkey Dee


Mikkey Dee says upcoming Motorhead live DVD Clean Your Clock is almost certainly the last word from the band, because they don’t have much unreleased material in their archive.

The concert film was shot in Germany last year, just weeks before the death of mainman Lemmy at the age of 70. The tour was in support of their final studio album Bad Magic.

Drummer Dee tells MetalPaths: “Motorhead did not record demo songs, so almost everything has been released.

“We experimented by composing the music while we were recording, for a spontaneous feel. We did it all right at the spot.

“Lemmy was easy to work with in the studio – he’d write his lyrics after the music was arranged. Unusually, this time around he was first in the studio and the last to leave.”

He describes the tour as “business as usual” despite the surrounding health issues suffered by both Lemmy and guitarist Phil Campbell.

Dee continues: “There’s just something about getting together on stage with the fans, lights, volume and excitement of the fans that kept us going. We felt always so supported.”

He believes Lemmy’s friends and family remain in shock at his death, and says: “We had tour dates already planned for 2016, and even considered filming more shows. Lemmy was giving 100% all the way.”

The frontman’s archive does include recordings for an unreleased solo album entitled Lemmy & Friends, begun in 2005 but never completed.

Dee is currently touring with the Scorpions, and won’t discuss his plans beyond that role. Lemmy’s life will be celebrated at this year’s Metal Hammer Golden Gods in London on June 13, when Dee, Campbell and Saxon will perform a tribute set. Clean Your Clock is released on June 10.

Motorhead: Clean Your Clock tracklist

  1. Bomber
  2. Stay Clean
  3. Metropolis
  4. When The Sky Comes Looking For You
  5. Over The Top
  6. (Guitar Solo) The Chase Is Better Than The Catch
  7. Lost Woman Blues
  8. Rock It
  9. Dr. Rock
  10. Just ‘Cos You Got The Power
  11. No Class
  12. Ace Of Spades
  13. Whorehouse Blues
  14. Overkill

Lemmy heroin warning revealed after 22 years

Freelance Online News Contributor

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history, including SAHB Story: The Tale of the Sensational Alex Harvey Band, a band he once managed, and the best-selling Apollo Memories about the history of the legendary and infamous Glasgow Apollo. Martin has written for Classic Rock and Prog and at one time had written more articles for Louder than anyone else (we think he's second now). He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.