Metallica’s Hardwired… To Self-Destruct sounds ‘crushing’


Metallica bassist Robert Trujillo says their 10th album Hardwired… To Self-Destruct sounds “crushing.”

The follow-up to 2008’s Death Magnetic will be released on November 18 via their Blackened Records label. And Trujillo reports that while heavy, the record also carries “strong melodies.”

The bassist tells City Pages: “Hardwired is the perfect statement to lead into this body of music. I think this album sounds crushing. Sound-wise, it’s got a lot of firepower. I’m excited about the songs, but I’m also excited about the sound quality of the record. Greg Fidelman did a great job with the production.

“It’s really fun music, but it’s also challenging. It can be a bit complex, but there’s strong melodies. I feel we’ve matured in the right way as a band. We’ve had a lot of creative challenges over the years and as we’ve gotten older, we’ve been going for it.”

Trujillo recalls a funny moment when he was flying home after completing work on Hardwired… To Self Destruct, when a fellow passenger talked to him about Metallica – but didn’t realise who he was.

He continues: “I’m getting on the plane and Hardwired had just been featured all over the nation. I sit down next to this guy, who offered me the free drink coupon.

“I had a Metallica jacket on and he said, ‘Oh, I heard they released their new album today.’ I said, ‘No, I think it was just one song.’ He goes, ‘Did you hear it?’ and I’m like, ‘Yeah, it’s good.’

“I look down, he’s got his headset on watching the video on his iPhone. He doesn’t know I’m in the band. He’s just going, ‘Oh man, this is really good.’ That was a classic moment.”

The book Metallica: Back To The Front, which celebrates the band’s classic third album Master Of Puppets will be published on September 13. Metallica recently issued a video looking back at the 1986 album.

The Hardwired… To Self-Destruct cover

The Hardwired… To Self-Destruct cover

Metallica Hardwired… To Self-Destruct tracklist


  1. Hardwired
  2. Atlas, Rise!
  3. Now That We’re Dead
  4. Moth Into Flame
  5. Am I Savage?
  6. Halo On Fire


  1. Confusion
  2. Dream No More
  3. ManUNkind
  4. Here Comes Revenge
  5. Murder One
  6. Spit Out The Bone

Metallica's Nothing Else Matters jazzed up by Macy Gray

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.