Metallica celebrate James Hetfield’s birthday by turning the clock back 20 years

Metallica in 2000
Metallica in 2000 (Image credit: Ken Hively/Los Angeles Times - Getty)

Metallica have broadcast the latest instalment of their Metallica Mondays series, which this week celebrated James Hetfield’s birthday.

The vocalist and guitarist turned 57 on Monday, with the band raiding the vaults for a performance in Dallas, Texas, from August 3, 2000 – Hetfield’s 37th birthday.

The set is peppered with classic tracks – and towards the end of Enter Sandman, Hetfield is given a birthday surprise when he’s pelted with cream pies from Lars Ulrich, Kirk Hammett, Jason Newsted and the entire Metallica road crew.

Metallica will release their S&M2 live album later this month on August 28 on standard 4LP vinyl, collectible coloured vinyl, 2CD, DVD, Blu-ray, and Deluxe Box set – and as a Fifth Member exclusive Super Deluxe Box, limited to just 500 copies.

S&M2 was captured during Metallica’s two shows with the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra at the city’s Chase Centre in September 2019 – two nights which celebrated the 20th anniversary of the original S&M album.

Last week, bassist Robert Trujillo unboxed the package from the beach… before hitting the waves with his surf board. 

Metallica: S&M2 (opens in new tab)

Metallica: S&M2 (opens in new tab)
Metallica's two shows with the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra from September 2019 are documented on this new live release. The concerts marked 20 years since the original S&M album.

Metallica: S&M2

Set 1
1. The Ecstasy Of Gold
2. The Call Of Ktulu
3. For Whom The Bell Tolls
4. The Day That Never Comes
5. The Memory Remains
6. Confusion
7. Moth Into Flame
8. The Outlaw Torn
9. No Leaf Clover
10. Halo On Fire

Set 2
11. Intro To Scythian Suite 
12. Scythian Suite Opus 20 II: The Enemy God And The Dance Of The Dark Spirits (by Sergei Prokofiev)
13. Intro To The Iron Foundry
14. The Iron Foundry, Opus 19
15. The Unforgiven III
16. All Within My Hands
17. (Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth
18. Wherever I May Roam
19. One
20. Master Of Puppets
21. Nothing Else Matters
22. Enter Sandman

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.