Magenta announce limited edition reissue of Home


Magenta have announced they'll release a new version of their 2006 album Home on July 1. This single CD version will be restricted to a very limited run of 500 copies.

“During the preparation for the Magenta 20th Anniversary show in Newbury, we decided to include a large selection from our Home album was has always been under-performed," Rob reed tells Prog. "Having to recreate the tracks, meant having to re visit the multi tracks which were in a bit of a mess. 

"Not being able to resist a tinker with the songs, I ended up re-working the multi-track. I solved some problems in the arrangements, and added fresh dynamics and colours. I kept what was good about the original - the vocals which are amazing, for instance - but re-working the backing tracks. We added some new things, and then took away anything that did not earn its keep from the original mixes. We were also very lucky to have Pete Jones (Tiger Moth Tales) on hand to play saxophone on the track Moving On, like he did in Newbury. The result I think is a more dynamic and atmospheric interpretation of what we looking to achieve."

The new Home 2019 tracklisting is:

1. This Life
2. Hurt
3. Moving On
4. My Home Town
5. Brave New Land
6. The Journey
7. Towers Of Hope
8. Demons
9. Morning Sunlight
10. Joe
11. The Dream
12. The Visionary
13. Journey’s End
14. The Traveller’s Lament
15. Home

Home 2019 can be pre-ordered here.


Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.