Lunatic Soul reveal 5th album Fractured

Lunatic Soul's Mariusz Duda
Lunatic Soul's Mariusz Duda (Image credit: Oskar Szramka)

Riverside vocalist and bassist Mariusz Duda has announced that his Lunatic Soul project will release their fifth album later this year.

It will be titled Fractured and will arrive on October 6 via Kscope. It’s the follow-up to 2014’s Walking On A Flashlight Beam.

Duda explains: “The main theme of Fractured is coming back to life after a personal tragedy.

“It’s inspired by what happened in my life in 2016 and by everything that’s happening around us and what’s making us turn away from one another and divide into groups, for better and for worse.”

He adds: “Musically it will be the most original album I have ever made as well as the most accessible and personal album in the Lunatic Soul discography.”

To mark the announcement, Lunatic Soul have released a fast-moving video for the album’s title track, which can be seen below.

Fractured was recorded in Poland at Serakos Studio and Custom 34 Studio and mixed by Magda and Robert Srzedniccy along with Duda. The artwork was created by Travis Smith, who has previously worked with artists including Anathema, Katatonia, Opeth and Riverside.

Fractured is now available for pre-order.

Lunatic Soul Fractured tracklist

  1. Blood On The Tightrope
  2. Anymore
  3. Crumbling Teeth And The Owl Eyes
  4. Red Light Escape
  5. Fractured
  6. A Thousand Shards Of Heaven
  7. Battlefield
  8. Moving On

A Beginners Guide To Lunatic Soul

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.