Lucifer’s Friend announce comeback

Lucifer’s Friend have reformed 20 years after they called it a day.

They released six albums in the 70s, with frontman John Lawton jumping ship to join Uriah Heep in 1976. He was replaced by Mike Starrs for two albums before returning for Mean Machine in 1981.

They split the following year but reformed briefly in 1994 under the moniker Lucifer’s Friend II for their ninth album Sumo Grip. They disbanded shortly after.

Now they’re back and will play Hamburg’s Downtown Blues Club on May 31 and the Sweden Rock Festival in Solvesborg on June 5.

They’ve also released a best-of compilation titled Awakening featuring classic tracks along with four new songs.

Lawton says: “The reformation of Lucifer’s Friend has been a long time coming but we all feel the time is right. To get back together with the guys with whom I worked together for so many years and recorded albums that have in many respects stood the test of time, is for me, an upcoming highlight.”

Lawton is joined in the lineup by guitarist Peter Hesslein, bassist Dieter Horns, keyboardist Jogi Wichmann and drummer Stephan Eggert.

Awakening tracklist

  1. Ride The Sky 2. In The Time Of Job 3. Keep Going 4. Toxic Shadows 5. Burning Ships 6. Fugitive 7. Moonshine Rider 8. Dirty Old Town 9. Fire And Rain 10. Hey Driver

Bonus new material

  1. Pray 2. Riding High 3. Did You Ever 4. This Road

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.