Listen to The Amity Affliction’s crushing new single Catatonia

The Amity Affliction
The Amity Affliction (Image credit: Pure Noise Records)

The Amity Affliction have released their new single titled Catatonia.

It’s the latest track taken from the Australian outfit’s upcoming studio album Everyone Loves You… Once You Leave Them – out on February 21 through Pure Noise Records.

The Amity Affliction shared the first single from the album All My Friends Are Dead in 2019 and Soak Me In Bleach, earlier this month.

Bassist Ahren Stringer says: “If you listen carefully, you’ll hear this is a sister track to All My Friends Are Dead. We wrote it to bookend the album and keep it heavy fuckin' metal. 

“Lyrically, I think it ties the whole theme of the album together and wraps up what vocalist Joel Birch is trying to get across. Even though everything might seem perfect from the outside, sometimes being broken on the inside can never truly be fixed.”

Speaking previously about the follow-up  to 2018's Misery, the band said: “This album is a result of our re-found love for heavy music. We wanted to make a heavier album to back up our most recent releases to let our fans know that we understand what the majority want to hear from us. 

"We have experimented creatively over the years and are now able to apply what we’ve learnt to what we consider the perfect blend of Amity new and old."

Stringer, Birch, guitarist Dan Brown and drummer Jon Longobardi will return to the UK and Europe with Beartooth from mid-February in support of the new record.

The Amity Affliction: Everyone Loves You Once You Leave Them

The Amity Affliction: Everyone Loves You Once You Leave Them
The Amity Affliction return with their new album Everyone Loves You… Once You Leave Them. The follow-up to 2018's Misery features the singles All My Friends Are Dead, Soak Me In Bleach and Catatonia.

The Amity Affliction: Everyone Loves You… Once You Leave Them
1. Coffin
2. All My Friends Are Dead
3. Soak Me In Bleach
4. All I Do Is Sink
5. Baltimore Rain
6. Aloneliness
7. Forever
8. Just Like Me
9. Born To Lose
10. Fever Dream
11. Catatonia

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.