Listen to Soundgarden’s Flower remix


Soundgarden have released a remixed version of their track Flower.

It features on the band’s upcoming Ultramega OK deluxe edition, which will launch on March 10 via Sub Pop.

Originally released by SST Records in the US in 1988, Ultramega OK was Chris Cornell, Kim Thayil, Hiro Yamamoto and Matt Cameron’s debut album. Flower was the first track on the record, which also featured a cover of Howlin’ Wolf’s Smokestack Lightning.

The expanded edition of the record was remixed by Seattle producer Jack Endino, with Thayil reporting in 2014 that they were looking for a label to release the new version.

He said: “Last year, Jack Endino and I spent a number of weeks remixing Ultramega OK and we’re gonna search for a label and put it out with a beautiful, heavier, warmer mix from Jack, which is something we always felt we had to correct about that release.”

Last year, Soundgarden issued a box set of their 1991 album Badmotorfinger to celebrate its 25th anniversary. The band are working on the follow-up to 2012’s King Animal and it’s expected to arrive later in 2017.

Soundgarden have a run of live dates scheduled throughout April and May.

The Ultramega OK cover

The Ultramega OK cover

Soundgarden Ultramega OK tracklist

  1. Flower
  2. All Your Lies
  3. 665
  4. Beyond The Wheel
  5. 667
  6. Mood For Trouble
  7. Circle Of Power
  8. He Didn’t
  9. Smokestack Lightning
  10. Nazi Driver
  11. Head Injury
  12. Incessant Mace
  13. One Minute Of Silence
  14. Head Injury (Early version)
  15. Beyond The Wheel (Early version)
  16. Incessant Mace (Short early version)
  17. He Didn’t (Early version)
  18. All Your Lies (Early version)
  19. Incessant Mace (Long early version)

Soundgarden 2017 tour dates

Apr 28: Tampa 98Rock Fest, FL
Apr 29: Jacksonville Welcome To Rockville, FL
Apr 30: Fort Myers FortRock, FL
May 05: Forest City Caroline Rebellion, NC
May 06: Tuscaloosa Amphitheatre, AL
May 13: Somerset Northern Invasion, WI
May 19: Columbus Rock On The Range, OH
May 27: Pryor Rocklahoma, OK

Next Soundgarden album has ‘colour where you want it to shine’

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.