Listen to John McBain’s Accidental Soundtrack

John McBain
John McBain

John McBain has premiered his new song Accidental Soundtrack exclusively with Prog.

It has been lifted from his upcoming album Accidental Soundtracks Vol. 1: The Alpha Particle, which will be released on June 2 via God Unknown Records.

McBain tells Prog: “This record was the result of a dare. My friend Luis Gutiérrez and I were talking about making records and current technology.

“We challenged each other to record a song a day until we had a complete album. This record is the result and it took about two weeks.”

McBain was co-founder of Monster Magnet and is also know for his work with a wide variety of artists including Wellwater Conspiracy, Queens Of The Stone Age, The Heads and Kandodo.

Find a stream of the new track below, along with the cover artwork and tracklist for Accidental Soundtracks Vol. 1: The Alpha Particle.

John McBain Accidental Soundtracks Vol. 1: The Alpha Particle tracklist

  1. Opening Credits
  2. Fade In Fade Out
  3. The Alpha Particle
  4. Lower California
  5. Captions & Credits
  6. Interloper
  7. Accidental Soundtrack
  8. Fade Out Fade IN
  9. First Earth Battalion
  10. Focal Point
  11. Colby’s Last Ride
  12. No Guitars
  13. The Hookup
  14. Malibu Run
  15. Ecliptic Plane
  16. Closing Credits
Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.