Skip to main content

Lindsey Buckingham releases upbeat new single Scream

Lindsey Buckingham
(Image credit: Lauren Dukoff )

Lindsey Buckingham has shared the third single from his forthcoming self-titled new album, scheduled to arrive on September 17 via Reprise. 

The track, titled Scream, serves as the album's opener and features folky guitar strumming and sparkling chimes around an upbeat, happy-go-lucky melody. 

Scream follows the previously-released singles I Don't Mind and the Go Your On Way-inspired On The Wrong Side.

Speaking of the upcoming album and the new track, Buckingham explains "Everything on the record is me, for better or worse. Many of the songs on this album are about the work and discipline it takes in maintaining a long-term relationship.

"Some of them are more about the discipline and some of them are more about the perks. Scream is about the perks.

"It felt very celebratory and it was also very, very simple and short. To the point. It didn’t evolve into some huge thing. It made its case and got the hell out. It just seemed like a good place to start the album, somehow. It’s very upbeat and very optimistic and very positive. It’s a celebration of an aspect of life."

In other news, Lindsey Buckingham will be heading across the pond to perform a European solo tour for the first time ever in 2022. Kicking off on May 17 in Dublin, the guitarist will play three UK shows in Glasgow, Liverpool and London, before heading off through Belgium, France, Netherlands, Germany, Sweden, Norway and Denmark. 

On September 1, 2021, Buckingham made his official live return in the US since undergoing life-saving heart surgery in 2019.

You can pre-order Lindsey Buckingham now. In the meantime, listen to Scream below.

Lindsey Buckingham tracklisting:

1. Scream
2. I Don't Mind
3. On The Wrong Side
4. Swan Song
5. Blind Love
6. Time
7. Blue Light
8. Power Down
9. Santa Rosa
10. Dancing

Lindsey Buckingham

(Image credit: Press)
Liz Scarlett
Liz Scarlett

Liz works on keeping the Louder sites up to date with the latest news from the world of rock and metal. Prior to joining Louder as a full time staff writer, she completed a Diploma with the National Council for the Training of Journalists and received a First Class Honours Degree in Popular Music Journalism. She enjoys writing about anything from neo-glam rock to stoner, doom and progressive metal, and loves celebrating women in music. '10 bands that rip off Black Sabbath but get away with it' is her favourite article she's written with Louder so far. When not writing, Liz enjoys various creative endeavours such as graphic design, as well as reading about rock’n’roll history, art and magic.