Skip to main content

Jess And The Ancient Ones stream new album ahead of launch

Jess And The Ancient Ones
Jess And The Ancient Ones (Image credit: Jarkko Pietarinen)

Jess And The Ancient Ones have streamed their upcoming new album in full exclusively with Prog.

The Horse And Other Weird Tales will officially be released on December 1 via Svart Records, but Prog readers can listen to all nine tracks now.

Jess And The Ancient Ones’ guitarist and composer Thomas Corpse says of the follow-up to 2015’s Second Psychedelic Coming: The Aquarius Tapes: “Groovy, heavy, psychedelic beat music? Hard death rock? Occult head-exploding meltdown? All of them and more.

“I cannot put a label on it, I just make it as it comes.”

The Finnish outfit’s lyrical concept is said to be “based upon the personal occult experiences” of the band, with their sound influenced by artists including Mercyful Fate, Roky Erickson, Iron Maiden and Abba.

The full album can be streamed below, and pre-orders are available via the Jess And The Ancient Ones Bandcamp page.

Jess And The Ancient Ones The Horse And Other Weird Tales tracklist

  1. Death Is The Doors
  2. Shining
  3. Your Exploding Heads
  4. You And Eyes
  5. Radio Aquarius
  6. Return To Hallucinate
  7. (Here Comes) Rainbow Mouth
  8. Minotaure
  9. Anyway The Minds Flow

Jess And The Ancient Ones - The Horse And Other Weird Tales album review

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.