Il Bacio della Medusa announce live album

Il Bacio della Medusa
(Image credit: Il Bacio della Medusa)

Perugia-based prog sextet Il Bacio della Medusa have announced the release of their new live album AnimAcustica. The new alb um, whose artwork and tracklisting you can see below, also features a brand new studio track, Testamento di un Poeta (A Poet's Testament).

The new live album, the band's second, was recorded live on Saturday 19 October 2019 at the the Palazzo della Corgna in Castiglione del Lago na in Castiglione del Lago whose paintings and walls date back to the 16th century.

"There is no doubt that this setting has benefited the performance of a band who use, especially on a lyrical level, to draw inspiration from historical events and legends dating back various centuries ago: something that makes Il Bacio della Medusa unique in the entire Italian prog-rock scene," the band state.

The band, who fuse 70s folk, jazz-rock, classical and symphonic music,  in their sound opted to record the new album acoustically as a reaction to the more modern approach of their last studio album, 2018's Seme.

Get AnimAcustica.

Il Bacio della Medusa

(Image credit: Il Bacio della Medusa)

Il Bacio della Medusa: AnimAcustica
1. Preludio: Il Trapasso
2. Confessione d'un Amante
3. Il Vino (Breve delirio del vino)
4. La Sonda
5. 5 e 1/4... Fuori dalla Finestra il Tempo è Dispari
6. Animatronica Platonica
7. Sudamerica
8. Uthopia... il Non Luogo
9. Scorticamento di Marsia
10. Cantico del Poeta Errante
11. De Luxuria, et De Ludo, et De Taberna
12. Testamento d'un Poeta

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.