Hawkwind announce new album and UK tour

(Image credit: Cherry Red)

Hawkwind have announced they will release a new album, their 32nd, on October 25 through Cherry Red. All Aboard The Skylark sees the band return to their space rock sound of Top 40 albums The Machine Stops Here (2016)  and Into The Woods (2017) after the orchestrated Road To Utopia (2018).

The band have also announced UK tour dates to celebrate their 50th anniversary culminating in a show at London's celebrated Royal Albert Hall venue.

All Aboard The Skylark features band leader Dave Brock, long-standing drummer Richard Chadwick, bassist and keyboard player Niall Hone and guitarist Magnus Martin.

The full tracklisting is:

1. Flesh Fondue
2. Nets Of Space
3. Last Man On Earth
4. We Are Nom Dead... Only Sleeping
5. All Aboard The Skylark
6. 65 Million Years Ago
7. In The Beginning
8. The Road To...
9. The Fantasy Of Faldum


(Image credit: Cherry Red)

The album comes with a bonus disc of acoustic covers inspired by the band opening their last tour with an acoustic set of Hawkwind classics. The band entered the studio and recorded Acoustic Daze, which features the following tracklisting:

1. Psy Power
2. Hymne To The Sun
3. The Watcher
4. Generator Door
5. Micro Man
6. Into The Night
7. Down Through The Night
8. Flying Doctor
9. Get You Act Together
10. Ascent Of Man
11. We Took The Wrong Step Years Ago

Hawkwind have also announced a full UK tour. This year has already seen the band headline the acoustic stage at Glastonbury, perform at this year's Graspop in Belgium and host their annual Hawkeaster festival.

They are currently planning a special 50th Anniversary Hawkwfest at the end of the year. In the meantime they will play:

Brighton Theatre Royal - November 10
York Grand Opera House - 11
Ipswich Corn Exchange - 12
Basingstoke The Anvil - 13
Manchester Albert Hall - 15
Edinburgh The Queens Hall - 16
Glasgow O2 Academy - 17
Cambridge Corn Exchange - 18
Bristol Anson Rooms - 19
Cardiff Tramshed - 20
Nottingham Rock City - 22
Birmingham Town Hall - 23
Coventry Empire - 24
Guildford G Live - 25
London Royal Albert Hall - 26


(Image credit: Cherry Red)
Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.