Gentle Giant’s Octopus remixed by Steven Wilson

Gentle Giant’s classic 1972 album Octopus has been remixed by Steven Wilson, and it’s to be re-released on October 27.

Along with the original eight tracks, the pack includes an extra 15 minutes of live material titled Excerpts From Octopus 1976, recorded while the band were on tour that year.

The Blu-ray edition will be presented in 9624 PCM, DTS 5.1 Surround Sound Master Audio and features a selection of instrumental mixes, along with a flat transfer of the original mix.

Roger Dean, who created the 1972 cover, has contributed new sketches to the package, while artwork from the US release will also be included.

Octopus was Gentle Giant’s fourth album and featured Gary Green, Kerry Minnear, Derek Shulman, Phil Shulman, Ray Schulman and John Weathers.

Wilson previously remixed the band’s 1974 record The Power And The Glory.

Octopus tracklist

  1. The Advent Of Panurge
  2. Raconteur Troubadour
  3. A Cry For Everyone
  4. Knots
  5. The Boys In The Band
  6. Dog’s Life
  7. Think Of Me With Kindness
  8. River
  9. Excerpts From Octopus 1976
Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.