Fotheringay box set detailed

The music of Fotheringay is featured on the 4-disc box set, Nothing More: The Collected Fotheringay, due March 30 via Universal Music.

Billed as “the most comprehensive compilation yet of the group’s recordings”, the 3CD/1DVD set presents expanded versions of the band’s two studio albums alongside unreleased live recordings from the BBC and an August 1970 show in Rotterdam, plus previously unseen footage from a November 1970 performance on the German TV show Beat Club.

Sandy Denny formed Fotheringay with Trevor Lucas in January 1970, just weeks after she’d left Fairport Convention on the eve of fourth album. _Liege & Lief. _The pair were joined by guitarist Jerry Donahue, bassist Pat Donaldson and drummer Gerry Conway.

They recorded a self-titled debut album that peaked at No.18 on the UK charts, but disbanded in January 1971 during sessions for the follow-up, which eventually surfaced in 2008 – 30 years after Denny’s death aged 31 from a brain haemorrhage at.

Presented in a hardcover book format, Nothing More: The Collected Fotheringay includes an essay by Mick Houghton, author of the upcoming Denny biography I’ve Always Kept A Unicorn, published on March 5 by Faber & Faber.


** DISC ONE – Fotheringay (Expanded)**

01: Nothing More

02: The Sea

03: The Ballad of Ned Kelly

04: Winter Winds

05: Peace In The End

06: The Way I Feel

07: The Pond and The Stream

08: Too Much of Nothing

09: Banks of The Nile

10: The Sea (Demo version)

11: Winter Winds (Demo version)

12: The Pond and The Stream (Demo version)

13: The Way I Feel (Original version)

14: Banks of The Nile (Alternate take)

15: Winter Winds (Alternate take)

DISC TWO – Fotheringay 2 (Expanded)

01: John The Gun

02: Eppie Moray

03: Wild Mountain Thyme

04: Knights of the Road

05: Late November

06: Restless

07: Gypsy Davey

08: I Don’t Believe You

09: Silver Threads and Golden Needles

10: Bold Jack Donahue

11: Two Weeks Last Summer

12: Late November – Joe Boyd mix

13: Gypsy Davey – Joe Boyd mix

14: Two Weeks Last Summer – Joe Boyd mix

15: Silver Threads and Golden Needles (Altenrnative 2004 version)

16: Bruton Town (Rehearsal version)

17: Bruton Town (2015 version; 1st time on CD)


01: The Way I Feel - Live in Rotterdam **

02: The Sea - Live in Rotterdam

03: Too Much Of Nothing - Live in Rotterdam **

04: Nothing More - Live in Rotterdam

05: I’m Troubled - Live in Rotterdam

06: Two Weeks Last Summer - Live in Rotterdam

07: The Ballad of Ned Kelly - Live in Rotterdam **

08: Banks of The Nile - Live in Rotterdam

09: Memphis Tennessee - Live in Rotterdam

10: Interview / The Sea – BBC Top Gear **

11: The Lowlands of Holland – BBC Folk On One **

12: Eppie Moray – BBC Folk On One **

13: John The Gun – BBC Sounds of The 70s **

14: Bold Jack Donahue – BBC Sounds of The 70s **

15: Gypsy Davey – BBC Sounds of The 70s **

16: Wild Mountain Thyme – BBC Sounds of The 70s **

**DISC FOUR – DVD – Beat Club - November 28, 1970 **

  1. Nothing More ** (Not broadcast)

  2. Gypsy Davey **

  3. John the Gun ** (Not broadcast)

04. Too Much of Nothing

** previously unreleased