Elbow to launch Best Of compilation this month


Elbow have announced that they’ll release a compilation titled The Best Of later this month.

The collection will be available as a standard edition along with a two-disc deluxe edition. Both will launch on November 24 via Polydor and are available for pre-order.

Among the tracks included in the collection is Golden Slumbers – Elbow’s cover of the Beatles track that’s featured in the new Christmas TV advert for UK store John Lewis.

It’s one of the favourites to be at the top of the UK singles’ charts this Christmas.

Elbow vocalist Guy Garvey explains: “Best Ofs are a good way of introducing new fans to a big back catalogue. My first Leonard Cohen album was The Best Of, same with Fleetwood Mac and Nick Drake.

“It took ages for us to decide what should go on ours but we got there in the end. We are really proud of this, it’s full of memories.”

Find The Best Of tracklist for both versions below, along with the cover art and Elbow’s upcoming UK tour dates.

Elbow The Best Of tracklist

Disc 1: Standard album

  1. Grounds for Divorce
  2. Magnificent (She Says)
  3. Lippy Kids
  4. One Day Like This
  5. The Bones Of You
  6. My Sad Captains
  7. Leaders Of Yhe Free World
  8. Mirrorball
  9. Fugitive Motel
  10. New York Morning
  11. Great Expectations
  12. The Birds
  13. Scattered Black and Whites
  14. Golden Slumbers

Disc 2: Deluxe Version Only

  1. Any Day Now
  2. Fly Boy Blue / Lunette
  3. Weather To Fly
  4. Station Approach
  5. Switching Off
  6. Little Fictions
  7. This Blue World
  8. Kindling (Fickle Flame) featuring John Grant
  9. Newborn
  10. Puncture Repair
  11. The Night Will Always Win
  12. Starlings
  13. The Loneliness Of A Tower Crane Driver
  14. Dear Friends

Elbow 2018 UK tour dates

Mar 02: Glasgow SSE Hydro
Mar 03: Birmingham Genting Arena
Mar 04: Manchester Arena
Mar 06: Leeds First Direct Arena
Mar 07: London The O2

Elbow: The Take Off And Landing Of Everything

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.