Deftones announce new album Ohms – watch video for electrifying title track

Deftones have announced their new studio albums Ohms – and released a video for the title track.

The follow-up to 2016’s Gore is released on September 25 via Warner Records. The band have released the electrifying title track as the first single, with the news coming after the band began teasing an announcement on social media earlier this week.

Ohms sees the band reuniting with producer Terry Date, who they worked with on their first four albums, including 2000’s White Pony. It also features artwork by White Pony sleeve designer Frank Maddocks.

Drummer Abe Cunningham tells Metal Hammer that the band spent time working on the album in their Sacramento studio space The Spot – the first time they’d been there since the death of original bassist Chi Cheng.

Cunningham said: “We were recording unreleased album Eros there, and it was nearly done, and he had his accident. We never went back after that. 

"Then this last writing session for this new record, we actually started going there a bit, and spruced it up a bit, got some new furniture, and some new gear, new computer for recording, all that kind of stuff.”

Deftones are also planning on reissuing their White Pony to mark its 20th anniversary which will also include a DJ Shadow remix titled Black Stallion.

Deftones: Ohms

Deftones: Ohms
Deftones are back with their highly anticipated new album Ohms. It'll be Chino Moreno and co's first record since 2016's Gore and it features the blistering title track.

(Image credit: Warners)

Deftones: Ohms
1. Genesis
2. Ceremony
3. Urantia
4. Errorr
5. The Spell Of Mathematics
6. Pompeji
7. This Link Is Dead
8. Radiant City
9. Headless
10. Ohms

Dave Everley

Dave Everley has been writing about and occasionally humming along to music since the early 90s. During that time, he has been Deputy Editor on Kerrang! and Classic Rock, Associate Editor on Q magazine and staff writer/tea boy on Raw, not necessarily in that order. He has written for Metal Hammer, Louder, Prog, the Observer, Select, Mojo, the Evening Standard and the totally legendary Ultrakill. He is still waiting for Billy Gibbons to send him a bottle of hot sauce he was promised several years ago.