Def Leppard’s Diamond Star Halos gets the coloured vinyl treatment

Def Leppard 2022
(Image credit: Anton Corbijn)

Last week, Def Leppard announced their 12th studio album Diamond Star Halos would be released on May 27, with the band marking the news by revealing their new single Kick.

While standard versions went up for pre-order immediately following the news, fans can now get their paws on two limited edition vinyl editions. First up is the double clear vinyl in a gatefold sleeve, which is exclusive to independent retailers and D2C. Townsend Music have it for pre-order now (opens in new tab) – and you can add the CD version of Diamond Star Halos for an extra £1.

Meanwhile over at EMP, you can grab the 2LP version in yellow and red vinyl (opens in new tab). The cover art has been given a new look too with both vinyl colours used in the final design.

Def Leppard’s new 15-track album is the band’s first since their 2015 self-titled record, and features guest vocals from award-winning singer, and Robert Plant collaborator, Alison Krauss who appears on the tracks This Guitar and Lifeless. David Bowie's longtime pianist Mike Garson also guests on Diamond Star Halos, lending his talents to Goodbye For Good This Time and Angels (Can’t Help You Now).

Def Leppard are gearing up for their previously postponed US stadium tour with Motley CruePoison and Joan Jett & The Blackhearts. The run of 36 shows will get underway at Atlanta’s Suntrust Park on June 16 and wrap up at Allegiant Stadium, Las Vegas on September 9.

Def Leppard: Diamond Star Halos: Clear vinyl (opens in new tab)

Def Leppard: Diamond Star Halos: Clear vinyl (opens in new tab)
This 2LP set in clear vinyl is exclusive to online retailers and Townsend Music are one of the online locations where you can grab it. You can also add the album on CD for £1 extra.

Def Leppard: Diamond Star Halos: Yellow & red vinyl (opens in new tab)

Def Leppard: Diamond Star Halos: Yellow & red vinyl (opens in new tab)
Meanwhile over at EMP, you can pre-order the 2LP version of the album in yellow and red vinyl. The cover art also differs from the regular release.

Def Leppard: Diamond Star Halos

(Image credit: UMe)

Def Leppard: Diamond Star Halos
1. Take What You Want
2. Kick
3. Fire It Up
4. This Guitar [feat. Alison Krauss]
5. SOS Emergency
6. Liquid Dust
7. U Rok Mi
8. Goodbye For Good This Time
9. All We Need
10. Open Your Eyes
11. Gimme A Kiss
12. Angels (Can’t Help You Now)
13. Lifeless [feat. Alison Krauss]
14. Unbreakable
15. From Here To Eternity

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. After initially joining our news desk in the summer of 2014, he moved to the e-commerce team full-time in 2020. He maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott grew up listening to rock and prog, cutting his teeth on bands such as Marillion and Magnum before his focus shifted to alternative and post-punk in the late 80s. His favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Ned's Atomic Dustbin and Drab Majesty, but he also still has a deep love of Rush.