Deep Purple’s Don Airey announces K2 box set

Don Airey
Don Airey

Deep Purple keyboardist Don Airey has launched a pre-order PledgeMusic campaign for a K2 – Tales of Triumph And Tragedy box set.

He initially recorded the album in 1988 at Sarm East Studios, London, and was inspired by an article written by mountaineer Jim Curran about his harrowing experiences on the 1986 expedition to K2 that claimed the life of 12 climbers.

The album features guest appearances by artists including Gary Moore, Cozy Powell, Colin Bluntstone and Chris Thompson.

The K2 box set will be limited to just 100 copies, and each comes with a signed and numbered certificate. The package will also contain a CD with seven previously unreleased bonus tracks, a DVD featuring performances and interviews, a repro press pack, a promotional photograph and a map of K2.

Airey says: “You are going to get something that will please everyone and hopefully you’ll like the music too!”

Pre-order exclusives include a range of incentives, including signed CDs, DVDs and posters. Find the tracklist and contents below. Find out more at Airey’s PledgeMusic page.

Don Airey K2 – Tales of Triumph And Tragedy tracklist


  1. K2 Overture
  2. Sea Of Dreams Part One
  3. Sea Of Dreams Part Two
  4. Voice Of The Mountain
  5. Song For Al (instrumental)
  6. Balti Lament
  7. Ascent To Camp 4
  8. Can’t Make Up Your Mind
  9. Summit Push
  10. Close To The Sky
  11. Blues for J.T.
  12. Julie (If You Leave Me)
  13. Death Zone/Whiteout
  14. Song For Al (vocal)

Bonus Tracks

  1. K2 Overture Monitor Mix
  2. Close To The Sky Monitor Mix
  3. Whiteout Monitor Mix
  4. Can’t Make Up Your Mind Demo.
  5. Song For Al Sonet Demo + Gtr (Keith)
  6. Song For Al Portastudio (Demo)
  7. Take Me Home

DVD Contents

  1. Newly filmed Performances
  2. K2 Overture – Live In The Studio 2017
  3. Song for Al – Live In The Studio 2017
  4. Don Airey Interview – Filmed in 2017
  5. The original promo video
  6. Original 1988 Electronic Press Pack
  7. Full length feature
  8. Original promo video for Julie (If You Leave Me) featuring Colin Bluntstone

The Real Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame: Don Airey

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.