Deep Purple debut video for brand new single Throw My Bones

Deep Purple
Deep Purple (Image credit: Ben Wolf)

Deep Purple have shared a video for their new single Throw My Bones.

It’s the first taste of material from the band’s upcoming studio album Whoosh!, which is set to arrive on June 12 through earMUSIC on CD, LP, 2LP/DVD and limited CD/DVD mediabook. 

The DVD editions will include an hour-long feature showing bassist Roger Glover in conversation with Whoosh! producer Bob Ezrin along with Deep Purple’s full live performance from Hellfest in 2017.

The video for Throw My Bones is described as pushing the “boundaries of time and place. It is an invitation to take a step back and see the bigger picture, a call for action and an invitation to observe the planet and the current situation on Earth.”

News of the follow-up to 2017’s InFinite came to light last month, with Guitarist Steve Morse saying: “We've included everything that made the whole band smile, including Bob Ezrin. We've always enjoyed making music and having the incredible luxury of a loyal audience.”

As for the title, frontman Ian Gillan said: “Whoosh is an onomatopoetic word that, when viewed through one end of a radio-telescope, describes the transient nature of humanity on Earth. And, through the other end from a closer perspective, illustrates the career of Deep Purple.”

Deep Purple are scheduled to head out on tour from the end of May in support of the album. At the time of writing, the tour is still going ahead. 

Deep Purple: Whoosh!

Deep Purple: Whoosh!
Deep Purple will return with their new album Whoosh! in June. It'll be the follow-up to 2017's InFinite and include the lead single Throw My Bones.

(Image credit: earMusic)

Deep Purple: Whoosh!
1. Throw My Bones
2. Drop The Weapon
3. We're All The Same In The Dark
4. Nothing At All
5. No Need To Shout
6. Step By Step
7. What The What
8. The Long Way Round
9. The Power Of The Moon
10. Remission Possible
11. Man Alive
12. And The Address
13. Dancing In My Sleep

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.