Daniel Tompkins streams brand new single The Gift

Daniel Tompkins & Paul Ortiz
(Image credit: Richard Oakes)

TesseracT singer Daniel Tompkins has streamed his brand new single The Gift. The track is taken from his upcoming album Ruins, which will be released through Kscope on December 11.

The Gift features a guest appearance from Trivium guitarist Matt Heafy, whilst Ruins also features guest appearances from fellow guitarists Paul Ortiz (Chimp Spanner) and Australian Plini.

“It was an honour to be featured on The Gift," says Heafy. "Having been a longtime fan of TesseracT and Dan, this was a wonderful collaboration to take part of. People are going to be floored with this release.” 

Ruins, the follow-up to Tompkins' Prog-Award winning debut album, 2019's Castles, takes a more aggressive and darker approach than the electronic debut, with producer Ortiz helping re-work the material from the debut. Whilst the the lyrical and conceptual side still represents the same ideas,  the new version Ruins is significantly different to Castles with the addition of  Tompkins’ signature aggressive versus clean vocal style. It was felt that renaming the album and each song was appropriate and aside from the lyrics, it is essentially a completely new album.

Pre-order Ruins.

Daniel Tompkins

(Image credit: Kscope)

Daniel Tompkins: Ruins
1. Wounded Wings (Feat. Plini)
2. Ruins
3. Tyrant
4. Stains of Betrayal
5. Empty Vows
6. Sweet The Tongue
7. A Dark Kind of Angel
8. The Gift (Feat. Matthew K Heafy)

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.