Crippled Black Phoenix announce new album Banefyre

Crippled Black Phoenix
(Image credit: Press)

UK dark prog rockers Crippled Black Phoenix have announced that they will release their latest album, Banefyre, through Season Of Mist on September 9.

At the same time the band have announced a run of European and UK live dates for August and September with labelmates Impure Wihelmina and shoegazers MØL.

"So yeah, this announcement is a pretty special one," the band announce. "The album and the tour! They’re finally happening!  Banefyre, The Musical! 

"CBP is still alive. Still predictably unpredictable, doing our own thing. Accept no imitation. If you find it necessary to indulge yourself with a full dose of “the Musical!”, you’ll find a fantastic dance of triumph and defeat amongst a starlit atmosphere of deviant Magik. A congregation of outland dwelling characters in tales of caution and of hope, a reflection of human nature, ‘This, a journey through OUR world which only we understand but strikes a chord of lightning blue recognition amongst the crowd. 

As satisfying as the longest and most perfect shit. 
To coin a phrase.. 

The Scene. 
The Prophet. 
The Clown. 
The End."

You can view the new album artwork and tracklisting for Banefyre, the follow-up to 2020's Ellengæst, below.

Crippled Black Phoenix tour dates:
Aug 25: GER Hannover Faust
Aug 26: GER Hamburg Banhoff Pauli
Aug 27: DEN Copenhagen Hotel Cecil
Aug 28: GER Berlin SO36
Aug 29: GER Leipzig Täubchenthal
Aug 30: GER Munich Backstage
Aug 31: HUN Budapest A38
Sep 1: AUT Vienna Chelsea
Sep 2: ITA Bologna Link
Sep 3: SWI Winterhur Gasswerk
Sep 4: FRA Paris Backstage
Sep 5: GER Cologne Essikfabrik
Sep 6: NED Zoertemeer Boerdrij
Sep 7: UK London The Dome
Sep 8: UK Bristol The Fleece
Sep 9: UK Manchester Rebellion
Sep 10: UK Glasgow Classic Grand

Buy the latest issue of Prog Magazine (opens in new tab).

Crippled Black Phoenix

(Image credit: Season Of Mist)

Crippled Black Phoenix: Banefyre
1. Intro/Incantation For The Different (2:49)
2. Wyches And Basterdz (4:57)
3. Ghostland (5:43)
4. The Reckoning (6:49)
5. Bonefire (4:36)
6. Rose Of Jericho (13:47)
7. Blackout77 (7:37)
8. Down The Rabbit Hole (10:32)
9. Everything Is Beautiful But Us (4:36)
10. The Pilgrim (6:19)
11. I'm OK, Just Not Alright (10:05)
12. The Scene Is A False Prophet (15:13)
13. No Regrets (4:30)

Crippled Black Phoenix

(Image credit: Press)
Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.