Chas Cronk to release new solo album Liberty

Chas Cronk
(Image credit: Press)

Strawbs bassist Chas Cronk has announced that he will release a new solo album, Liberty, through US label Renaissance Records on February 11 for the vinyl version and March 4 for the CD version. You can watch a video of Cronk in conversation about the upcoming album below.

"With Strawbs currently inactive, I have a solo album coming out called Liberty," Cronk tells Prog. "It was pretty much all written and recorded by me during lockdowns."

Cronk plays the majority of the instruments on Liberty himself, with Major Baldini performing the drums tracks. However Liberty boasts guest performances from Cronk's Strawbs bandmates Dave Lambert on Splash Of Blue and Dave Bainbridge on Slipping Downstream.

Pre-order Liberty.

Chas Cronk

(Image credit: Renaissance Records)

Chas Cronk: Liberty
1. Liberty
2. Take My Hand
3. A Splash Of Blue
4. Everybody Knows
5. Flying Free
6. Into The Light
7. Slipping Downstream
8. Away
9. System Overload
10. Reverie

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.