Bill Bruford’s Earthworks release expanded edition of Heavenly Bodies

Bill Bruford
Bill Bruford (Image credit: James Cumpsty/Redferns - Getty)

Bill Bruford’s Earthworks have released an expanded edition of their 1997 compilation Heaveny Bodies.

The original version has been out of print for some time, with the new collection now boasting a total of 23 tracks which have been selected by Bruford from the Earthworks Complete deluxe box set - which is available from Amazon.

Bruford says: “Heavenly Bodies: The Expanded Collection serves as the ideal ‘beginners’ guide’ for newcomers to the band. Progressive jazz isn’t a million miles from progressive rock: both genres prioritise change from inside and out. 

“People would come away from our gigs saying, ‘I didn’t think I liked jazz, but if that’s jazz, I love it!’ Heavenly Bodies: The Expanded Collection is the perfect jumping off point to dip your toes in the water.”

Along with the music, the package includes newly written liner notes, while all audio, visual and printed material were sourced and curated by Bruford, with additional artwork created by  award-winning illustrator, photographer and filmmaker Dave McKean.

Find further details below.

Bill Bruford's Earthworks: Heavenly Bodies: The Expanded Collection

Bill Bruford's Earthworks: Heavenly Bodies: The Expanded Collection
This new version of the 1997 compilation has been expanded to take the form of a career-spanning compilation and now boasts a total of 23 tracks.

Bill Bruford’s Earthworks: Heavenly Bodies: Expanded Collection

Disc 1
1. Stromboli Kicks
2. Making A Song And Dance
3. Up North
4. Candles Still Flicker In Romania's Dark
5. Pigalle
6. My Heart Declares A Holiday
7. Temple Of The Winds
8. Nerve
9. Gentle Persuasion
10. It Needn't End In Tears
11. Libreville
12. Dancing On Frith Street
13. Bridge Of Inhibition

Disc 2
1. No Truce With The Furies - Artist One
2. Dewey-Eyed, Then Dancing
3. A Part, And Yet Apart
4. Revel Without A Pause
5. The Sound Of Surprise
6. White Knuckle Wedding
7. Youth
8. Rosa Ballerina
9. Thud
10. Blues For Little Joe

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.