Beartooth announce new album Below with anthemic new single The Past Is Dead

Beartooth have released a new single, The Past Is Dead, taken from their upcoming new album Below.

The song finds the US band in full-on anthemic mode - something at odds with its darker lyrical themes.

"The Past Is Dead was one of the first songs written for the album," says frontman Caleb Shomo. "Various versions have been in the bank for about two years now and it really set the tone for the whole album’s writing process. The video is meant to depict the beginning of the journey to the deepest and darkest parts of my mind, which was the fuel used to make Below."

Below is released on June 25 via Red Bull Records. It’s the follow up to 2018’s Disease.

“It covers the dark side of dealing with mental strain during the last year,” says Caleb of the album. “I gave it all I had — musically and lyrically. Is it too dark? Possibly, but it was as honest as I could be about how I felt. I hope everyone is ready to strap in for a wild ride of headbanging and rocking.”

Beartooth - Below

(Image credit: Red Bull Records)

Beartooth: Below tracklisting

1. Below
2. Devastation
3. The Past Is Dead
4. Fed Up
5. Dominate
6. No Return
7. Phantom Pain
8. Skin
9. Hell Of It
10. I Won’t Give It Up
11. The Answer
12. The Last Riff

Metal Hammer

Founded in 1983, Metal Hammer is the global home of all things heavy. We have breaking news, exclusive interviews with the biggest bands and names in metal, rock, hardcore, grunge and beyond, expert reviews of the lastest releases and unrivalled insider access to metal's most exciting new scenes and movements. No matter what you're into – be it heavy metal, punk, hardcore, grunge, alternative, goth, industrial, djent or the stuff so bizarre it defies classification – you'll find it all here, backed by the best writers in our game.