Skip to main content

Anneke van Giersbergen’s Vuur detail debut album

Vuur (Image credit: Set Vexy)

Anneke van Giersbergen’s Vuur have revealed further details on their upcoming debut album.

They previously announced it would be titled In This Moment We Are Free - Cities and arrive on October 20 via InsideOut Music.

Now they’ve revealed the full tracklist and album cover – along with a six-minute audio stream featuring snippets of all 11 songs.

Speaking about the album artwork, van Giersbergen says: “The cover is designed by Black & Finch with whom I’ve previously worked on the Verloren Verleden release.

“The lyrical themes of this album revolve around cities and freedom. Exposure to big cities can be overwhelming and you can feel engulfed by everything around you. At the same time it’s easy to be a stranger in a big city and for me that brings out a feeling of freedom as well.”

She adds: “This past year I’ve thought a lot about the virtues of rural versus urban life, since me and my family are moving back to the city.

“It’s very exciting, but at the same time I know that sense of urban solitude from past experiences. The cover artwork represents this duality.”

In This Moment We Are Free - Cities was produced by Joost van den Broek, who was also involved in the writing process.

Vuur will head out on tour across Europe throughout November and December with Epica and Scar Symmetry. In May 2018, Residentie Orkest The Hague will host an evening with van Giersbergen. Both nights will feature a career-spanning concert with orchestral arrangements.

In This Moment We Are Free - Cities is now available for pre-order.

In This Moment We Are Free - Cities tracklist

  1. My Champion - Berlin
  2. Time - Rotterdam
  3. The Martyr And The Saint - Beirut
  4. The Fire - San Francisco
  5. Freedom - Rio
  6. Days Go By - London
  7. Sail Away - Santiago
  8. Valley Of Diamonds - Mexico City
  9. Your Glorious Light Will Shine - Helsinki
  10. Save Me - Istanbul
  11. Reunite! - Paris

Anneke Van Giersbergen's VUUR Stream Days Go By - London

Scott Munro

Scott looks after Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 25 years in newspapers and magazines and in 2014 joined our news desk, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more.