Turkish/French proggers Asia Minor have 1979 debut album reissued

Asia Minor
(Image credit: Press)

Turkish/French 70s proggers Asia Minor have had their 1979 debut album Crossing The Line reissued on vinyl and CD by AMS Records.

The band were formed in 1973 by two Turkish students living in Paris, Setrak Bakirel and Erik Tekeli, and who released Crossing The Line in 1979.  As well as Bakirel (vocals, guitar, bass) and Tekeli (flute, guitar, bass), the album also featured drummer Lionel Beltrami and guest keyboard player Nick Vicente.

Asia Minor would go on to release one further album, Between Flesh And Divine, which was reissued through AMS Records earlier this year, in 1980, before the band disbanded in 1982.

Bakirel and Tekeli reformed Asia Minor in 2014, with a line-up that now featured Evelyne Kandel on bass, Micha Rousseau on keyboards and Julien Tekeyan on drums, and released a reunion album, Points Of Liberation, also through AMS Records, in 2020.

Crossing The Line has been released on limited edition yellow vinyl and CD.

Get Crossing The Line.

Asia Minor

(Image credit: AMS Records)

Asia Minor

(Image credit: AMS Records)

Asia Minor: Crossing The Line
1. Preface
2. Mahzun Gözler
3. Mystic Dance
4. Misfortune
5. Landscape
6. Visions
7. Without Stir
8. Hayal Dolu Günler Için
9. Postface

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.