Tom Morello teams up with suicide prevention charity for new single

Tom Morello has released a lyric video for his new single Every Step That I Take.

The Prophets Of Rage guitarist has recorded the song with Portugal.The Man and Whethan, with the track set to appear on Morello's upcoming album The Atlas Underground – out on October 12.

Morello has teamed up with a suicide prevention charity for the track in light of Chris Cornell’s death.

Morello tells the Chicago Tribune (via ThePRP): “We’re partnering with an organisation called SAVE – Suicide Awareness Voices Of Education – focusing on suicide prevention, information and depression awareness. 

“With the passing of Chris over a year ago, and the momentum towards removing the stigma from mental health issues and suicidal thoughts, it was very important to have a song from that point of view.”

Morello continues: “I’ve had mental illness issues in my family and among my friends in the past and there’s a current trend toward this demystification to encourage people, among your friends, loved ones and professionals, there is help and there are ways. 

“You know, you break your arm, it’s not a stigma to go to the hospital to get it set. Hopefully we’re able to start looking at suicidal thoughts and depression in the same way that can materially save lives.”

Morello reports that Every Step That I Take “is about how the dreams, and depression, and love and the lack of it on the emotional steps of the gallows are processed.”

He continues: “It was a song written by myself and Matt Shultz from Cage The Elephant and Johnny Gourley from Portugal.The Man sings it and it’s just a beautiful song. One of my favourites on the record.”

The Atlas Underground is now available for pre-order.

Tom Morello - The Atlas Underground
1. Battle Sirens (feat. Knife Party)
2. Rabbit's Revenge (feat. Bassnectar, Big Boi & Killer Mike)
3. Every Step That I Take (feat. Portugal. The Man & Whethan)
4. We Don't Need You (feat. Vic Mensa)
5. Find Another Way (feat. Marcus Mumford)
6. How Long (feat. Steve Aoki & Tim McIlrath)
7. Lucky One (feat. K.Flay)
8. One Nation (feat. Pretty Lights)
9. Vigilante Nocturno (feat. Carl Restivo)
10. Where It's at Ain't What It Is (feat. Gary Clark Jr. & Nico Stadi)
11. Roadrunner (feat. Leikeli47)
12. Lead Poisoning (feat. GZA, RZA & Herobust)

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.