The Tangent find a Spark In The Aether

Prog outfit The Tangent will release their eighth album in April, they’ve announced.

Titled A Spark In The Aether: The Music That Died Alone - Volume Two will launch in Europe on April 20 via InsideOut Music. It’s the follow-up to 2013’s L’Etagere Du Travail and takes its name from their 2003 debut.

Joining founder and multi-instrumentalist Andy Tillison on the album are The Flower Kings’ bassist Jonas Reingold, saxophonist and flautist Theo Travis who has worked with Steven Wilson and Robert Fripp, Maschine guitarist Luke Machin and Kaipa drummer Morgan Agren.

Tillison says: “After all the different things we’ve done, this time it seemed right to come back to our prog roots. At the same time we wanted to go somewhere new, so we travelled to America in our imaginations. We all hope you’ll join us!”

The band have revealed the album artwork with a full tracklist to be revealed in due course.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. After initially joining our news desk in the summer of 2014, he moved to the e-commerce team full-time in 2020. He maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott grew up listening to rock and prog, cutting his teeth on bands such as Marillion and Magnum before his focus shifted to alternative and post-punk in the late 80s. His favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Ned's Atomic Dustbin and Drab Majesty, but he also still has a deep love of Rush.