The Soundbyte stream new album Solitary IV

The Soundbyte
The Soundbyte

Norwegian outfit The Soundbyte have made their new album Solitary IV available to stream in full with Prog.

The record will be released on June 30 via Temple Of Torturous – but Prog readers can listen to all seven track below.

Speaking about the new album guitarist Trond Engum exclusively tells Prog: “For us, Solitary IV is as much a monument as it is an album.

“It’s defined aesthetically by signature guitars, expressive drumming, contrasting string arrangements and raw vocal performances.

“It’s a fine balance between hope and the sound of an unavoidable dystopia as the songs alter between the intentionally discomforting and the soothingly disturbed.”

Joining Engum in the band is drummer Rune Hoemsne, with the pair previously playing together in experimental outfit The 3rd And The Mortal. Guest vocalists Tone Ase and Kirsti Huke also feature on the record.

Solitary IV is said to be built “almost entirely around Engum’s unique guitar and electronic sound, Hoemsne’s signature rhythms and haunting and ethereal vocal work” with an “off-kilter vision for sonic expression and paying painstaking attention to every detail.”

The album is now available for pre-order direct from the label’s website. Find the stream, album artwork and tracklist below.

The Soundbyte Solitary IV tracklist

  1. Fanfare
  2. Descending
  3. North
  4. Lamentations
  5. Floating
  6. Estranged
  7. Solitary

TeamRock Radio is back. But after what happened, why have we kept the name?

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.