The Pineapple Thief to host online album announcement party this weekend

The Pineapple Thief
The Pineapple Thief (Image credit: Diana Seifert)

The Pineapple Thief have revealed they’ll host an online album announcement party this weekend for their new record Versions Of The Truth.

It’ll kick off tomorrow night (Saturday, June 27) at 8pm BST on the band’s Facebook page (opens in new tab) and YouTube channel (opens in new tab), where they’ll discuss the new record and answer questions from fans.

Vocalist and guitarist Bruce Soord tells Prog: “It's ironic isn't it that the 'great pause' has actually motivated us to do things like this. We didn't realise until we tried it, just how much people seemed to enjoy being with us. 

“We weren't on stage, we weren't sitting behind a desk signing things in the corner of a dark room. We were just in our studios having a good old-fashioned relaxing chat. And to have people from all over the world being with us – and each other – in one 'virtual' place is a really special feeling. 

“One thing that struck me was how incredibly friendly and warm people were. There were no haters or trolls. I'm not sure what we've done to deserve to be treated so kindly to be honest, but I'll take it!”

Soord adds: “As we've just announced our new album, we thought why not do it again? It'll be all four of us in the band, chatting live with fans, talking about the new album and anything else that may come our way. And yes I'm planning to sing a song, probably a new one.

“I’ve done a few acoustic live streams from my studio recently so it's all set up nicely. It's not just me singing down into my rubbish iPhone speaker!

“So I hope people can come and hang out with us and probably more importantly, all the other TPT music lovers in the world too.”

Versions Of The Truth will be released on September 4 through Kscope, with the band debuting their latest single Demons earlier this month (opens in new tab).

The Pineapple Thief’s planned headline tour for this autumn has been rescheduled for 2021 (opens in new tab). All tickets for the 2020 dates will be valid for the new dates. For refunds please check with point of sale.

The Pineapple Thief: Versions Of The Truth (opens in new tab)

The Pineapple Thief: Versions Of The Truth (opens in new tab)
The Pineapple Thief will return with their new studio album Versions Of The Truth in September. The follow-up to 2018's Dissolution features the single Demons.

The Pineapple Thief

(Image credit: Kscope)

The Pineapple Thief: Versions Of The Truth
1. Versions Of The Truth
2. Break It All
3. Demons
4. Driving Like Maniacs
5. Leave Me Be
6. Too Many Voices
7. Our Mire
8. Out Of Line
9. Stop Making Sense
10. The Game

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. After initially joining our news desk in the summer of 2014, he moved to the e-commerce team full-time in 2020. He maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott grew up listening to rock and prog, cutting his teeth on bands such as Marillion and Magnum before his focus shifted to alternative and post-punk in the late 80s. His favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Ned's Atomic Dustbin and Drab Majesty, but he also still has a deep love of Rush.