The Magpie Salute return with new album and lyric video

The Magpie Salute (Image credit: David McClister)

The Magpie Salute have announced that their new studio album will be released later this year.

It’s titled High Water II and comes hot on the heels of last year’s High Water I and will launch on October 18 through Provogue.

The record is said to pick up from where their debut left off, with much of the album recorded during those sessions at Nashville’s Dark Horse Studios. The remainder was recorded at Rockfield Studios in Wales following the conclusion of their 2018 European tour.

Speaking about the flow between both records, former Black Crowes guitarist Rich Robinson says: “Both records are part of a collective journey. I chose the sequence specifically for each record. 

“I wanted High Water l to introduce us to the world and the world to us. With High Water II I wanted to get a little deeper. To take people places they may not have expected to go.”

He adds: “It’s all personal for anyone writing or listening. If you like the band, the music, the lyrics or if you’re writing these songs, there is an intimate relationship formed with the work.

“A song, a lyric can mean seven billion different things to people around the world because everyone around the song, writer or listener, will have their own individual life experiences and perspectives that colour and assimilate the song into their life experience. It’s pretty amazing if you think about it.”

To mark the announcement, The Magpie Salute have released a lyric video for the track In Here, which can be found below along with High Water II's full tracklist and cover art.

The Magpie Salute: High Water II
1. Sooner Or Later
2. Gimme Something
3. Leave It All Behind
4. In Here
5. You And I
6. Mother Storm
7. A Mirror
8. Lost Boy (ft Alison Krauss)
9. Turn It Around
10. Life Is A Landslide
11. Doesn’t Really Matter
12. Where Is This Place

The Magpie Salute: High Water II

The Magpie Salute: High Water II
Hot on the heels of their debut album comes High Water II – the second record from The Magpie Salute. The record features the lead single In Here and includes Lost Boy featuring Alison Krauss.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.