The Church detail Further/Deeper

Australian neo-psychedelic veterans The Church have confirmed their 21st album, Further/Deeper, will be released on June 8 in the UK.

The launch comes after a European tour including two British dates – at London’s Islington Academy on June 4 and Brighton’s Haunt on June 5.

The 12-track title was boiled down from an eight-day writing session that resulted in a crop of 26 songs.

Vocalist-bassist Steve Kilbey says: “The magic started on day one. Someone strummed a chord and we were off. We wrote and recorded like demons – it was inspiring to feel every member using all his resources in the service of this record.”

It’s The Church’s first album with former Powderfinger guitarist Ian Haug, who says: “It was a trip, and an incredible honour to be accepted so readily into a songwriting as well as guitar-playing role.

“The first song we wrote was Miami, and from there we splintered off into several styles of surreal to intense psychedelia — and songs to make you drive fast.”


  1. Vanishing Man

  2. Delirious

  3. Pride Before a Fall

  4. Toy Head

  5. Laurel Canyon

  6. Love Philtre

  7. Globe Spinning

  8. Old Coast Road

  9. Lightning White

  10. Let Us Go

  11. Volkano

  12. Miami

Freelance Online News Contributor

Not only is one-time online news editor Martin an established rock journalist and drummer, but he’s also penned several books on music history, including SAHB Story: The Tale of the Sensational Alex Harvey Band, a band he once managed, and the best-selling Apollo Memories about the history of the legendary and infamous Glasgow Apollo. Martin has written for Classic Rock and Prog and at one time had written more articles for Louder than anyone else (we think he's second now). He’s appeared on TV and when not delving intro all things music, can be found travelling along the UK’s vast canal network.