Steve Howe shares his new solo single The Headlands

Steve Howe
Steve Howe (Image credit: Joseph Branston/Guitarist Magazine)

Steve Howe (opens in new tab) has released his new solo single The Headlands.

The instrumental is the first material taken from the Yes (opens in new tab) guitarist’s upcoming album Love Is, which is set to arrive on July 31 through BMG Records – Howe's first solo album since 2011’s Time.

Speaking about the album, which will feature five instrumentals and five vocal tracks, Howe said: “I called the album Love Is because it hints at the central idea that that love is important but also love of the universe and the ecology of the world is very important.

“Alexander Humboldt went around the world and recognised we are destroying the planet but that was 200 years ago! 

“We are still destroying the planet and, I suppose, my songs show the yearning I have for the love of nature and how beauty, art and music all stem from nature. There is a theme about those things, love, beauty, ecology, nature and wonderful people."

Love Is sees Howe on lead vocals, along with electric, acoustic and steel guitars, keyboards, percussion and bass on the instrumentals, while Yes singer Jon Davison provides vocal harmonies and bass on the vocal tracks. The album also features Dylan Howe on drums.

Howe explains: “I invited Jon to sing harmonies with me and add bass on the songs. If he was singing, I thought: ‘Why doesn’t he play bass as well?’ It turned out nice. 

“He’s been with Yes for seven or eight years and he’s a great guy, great performer and a great interpreter of Yes songs.

“I’ve been singing for years, mainly in harmony but I’ve sung lead on lots of my own albums before and I feel that as I’ve got older, I’ve got a grip on that and, hopefully, it’s improved over the years.”

Love Is will be released on CD with gatefold sleeve containing a 12-page booklet, heavyweight vinyl and on digital and streaming platforms.

Steve Howe: Love Is (opens in new tab)

Steve Howe: Love Is (opens in new tab)
Yes guitarist Steve Howe will release his first solo album since 2011's Time this summer. Love Is will feature the lead single The Headlands.

Steve Howe: Love Is
1. Fulcrum (Instrumental)
2. See Me Through
3. Beyond The Call (Instrumental)
4. Love Is A River
5. Sound Picture (Instrumental)
6. It Ain't Easy
7. Pause For Thought (Instrumental)
8. Imagination
9. The Headlands (Instrumental)
10. On The Balcony

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent more than 30 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. After initially joining our news desk in the summer of 2014, he moved to the e-commerce team full-time in 2020. He maintains Louder’s buyer’s guides, scouts out the best deals for music fans and reviews headphones, speakers, books and more. He's written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog and has previous written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky. Scott grew up listening to rock and prog, cutting his teeth on bands such as Marillion and Magnum before his focus shifted to alternative and post-punk in the late 80s. His favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Ned's Atomic Dustbin and Drab Majesty, but he also still has a deep love of Rush.