Southern Empire return with first new album in five years

Southern Empire
(Image credit: Press)

Australian prog rockers Southern Empire have announced that they will release their latest album, Another World, through GEP records on September 4.

The new album, the band's first for five years, sees the debut of new vocalist Shaun Holton, who replaced former singer Danny Lopresto, who left the band amicably last year.

"I am incredibly excited to have Shaun on board for the next phase of Southern Empire music," says founding member Sean Timms. "His range, tonal colour and song writing are impeccable and have a modern sensibility that will take the band further than I’d ever thought possible."

"Making my previous albums pushed me to find the very limits of my potential as a producer and multi-instrumentalist... and whilst I’m incredibly proud of that work and the positive reception it received, I knew that I wanted something more," adds new boy Holton. "Southern Empire is definitely the welcome opportunity I’ve waited a lifetime for. This is musicality at a level I have only previously dreamt about, but I have never been more ready!"

Another World will be available on CD and double marbled vinyl. You can view the new artwork and tracklisting below.

Southern Empire

(Image credit: GEP)

Southern Empire: Another World
1. Reaching Out
2. Face The Dawn
3. Hold On To Me
4. When You Return
5. Moving Through Tomorrow
6. White Shadows
7. Butterfly

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.