Soho Rezanejad streams haunting new single Sleepless Solitude

Soho Rezanejad
(Image credit: Soho Rezanejad)

Iranian art rocker Soho Rezanejad has streamed her haunting new single Sleepless Solitude. The song is taken from her upcoming album Perform And Surrender, which will be released through her own Silicone Records label on December 4. You can listen to the song in full below.

"I wrote this song after spending an entire evening trying to find an acapella version of Mariah Carey's My All," Rezanejad explains. It's the closing title of the album."

The New York-born artist, composer, and playwright's new album results from a series of performances presented between 2018 and 2019 in Copenhagen, Vienna, Helsingør, Munich, Montreal, Toronto, St. Petersburg, Tromsø and Nantes. The series of presentations later adapted to a full-length album backed by poetry recitations. 

“On the day of performance, I wrote small scores, bits of stage direction, or half-lit phantoms to activate the set," she adds. "The performances became special to each space, each contributing a fragment to the record’s whole.

"I lost someone very dear to me at the time. All things, especially in the practice of surrendering, resembled a testimony of life and death. The language of nature, especially in its falls and springs, played a substantial role in the album's title and direction."

Pre-order Perform And Surrender.

Soho Rezajenad

(Image credit: Silicone Records)

Soho Rezajenad: Perform And Surrender
1. Perform
2. Surrender
3. Stages I
4. Absence
5. Half the Shore
6. Hera
7. Stages II
8. Sleepless Solitude

Jerry Ewing

Writer and broadcaster Jerry Ewing is the Editor of Prog Magazine which he founded for Future Publishing in 2009. He grew up in Sydney and began his writing career in London for Metal Forces magazine in 1989. He has since written for Metal Hammer, Maxim, Vox, Stuff and Bizarre magazines, among others. He created and edited Classic Rock Magazine for Dennis Publishing in 1998 and is the author of a variety of books on both music and sport, including Wonderous Stories; A Journey Through The Landscape Of Progressive Rock.