Phil Collins announces collaborative compilation Plays Well With Others

Phil Collins has announced a new box set, which will be released next month.

It’s titled Plays Well With Others, with the 4CD set focusing on his collaborative work with a range of artists over the years, including Brian Eno, Robert Plant, John Martyn, Eric Clapton, Paul McCartney and Robert Fripp.

It’ll be released on September 28 on both CD and digital platforms.

Collins says: “Some would say I’ve lived a charmed life. I’ve done what I wanted for most of it, and got paid well for doing something I’d have done for nothing. Playing the drums.

“During that time I’ve played with most of my heroes, most have become close friends. Over these 4 CDs you’ll find a mere smattering of those moments. 

“I thank the artists for letting me put this CD together, no easy task!"

Collins began working on material outside Genesis in the mid-70s, with the band’s producer John Anthony calling on him to lend his skills to material that didn’t fit in with the Genesis sound of the time.

Collins recalls: “He was producing all kinds of records, and he would use me because he loves good drumming.

“We used to go into Trident Studios at midnight, just for the fun of playing, and go home at six or seven in the morning. I enjoyed the possibility of just playing and occasionally being paid for it, and occasionally not. It wasn’t for money, it was just for the hell of playing.”

Plays Well With Others features a total of 59 tracks and is now available for pre-order. Find further details below.

Disc 1: 1969-1982
1. Guide Me Orion – Flaming Youth
2. Knights (Reprise) – Peter Banks
3. Don’t You Feel It – Eugene Wallace
4. I Can’t Remember, But Yes – Argent
5. Over Fire Island – Brian Eno
6. Savannah Woman – Tommy Bolin
7. Pablo Picasso – John Cale
8. Nuclear Burn – Brand X
9. No-One Receiving – Brian Eno
10.  Home – Rod Argent
11. M386 – Brian Eno
12.  And So To F – Brand X
13. North Star – Robert Fripp
14. Sweet Little Mystery – John Martyn
15. Intruder – Peter Gabriel
16. I Know There’s Something Going On – Frida
17. Pledge Pin – Robert Plant
18. Lead Me To The Water – Gary Brooker

Disc 2: 1982-1991
1. In The Mood – Robert Plant
2. Island Dreamer – Al Di Meola
3. Puss ‘n’ Boots – Adam Ant
4. Walking On The Chinese Wall – Philip Bailey
5. Do They Know It’s Christmas (Feed The World) – Band Aid
6. Just Like A Prisoner – Eric Clapton
7. Because Of You – Philip Bailey
8. Watching The World – Chaka Khan
9. No One Is To Blame (Phil Collins version) – Howard Jones
10. If Leaving Me Is Easy – The Isley Brothers
11. Angry – Paul McCartney
12. Loco In Acapulco – Four Tops
13. Walking On Air – Stephen Bishop
14. Hall Light – Stephen Bishop
15. Woman In Chains – Tears For Fears
16. Burn Down The Mission – Phil Collins

Disc 3: 1991-2011
1. No Son Of Mine – Genesis
2. Could’ve Been Me – John Martyn
3. Hero – David Crosby
4. Ways To Cry – John Martyn
5. I’ve Been Trying – Phil Collins
6. Do Nothing ‘Till You Hear From Me – Quincy Jones
7. Why Can’t It Wait Til Morning – Fourplay
8. Suzanne – John Martyn
9. Looking For An Angel – Laura Pausini
10. Golden Slumbers / Carry That Weight / The End – George Martin
11. In The Air Tonite – Lil’ Kim featuring Phil Collins
12. Welcome – Phil Collins
13. Can’t Turn Back The Years – John Martyn  

Disc 4: Live 1981-2002
1. In The Air Tonight’ (Live At The Secret Policeman’s Other Ball) – Phil Collins
2. While My Guitar Gently Weeps – George Harrison
3. You Win Again – The Bee Gees
4. There’ll Be Some Changes Made – Phil Collins and Tony Bennett
5. Stormy Weather – Phil Collins and Quincy Jones
6. Chips And Salsa – The Phil Collins Big Band
7. Birdland – Phil Collins with The Buddy Rich Big Band
8. Pick Up The Pieces (Live At The Montreux Jazz Festival 1998) – The Phil Collins Big Band
9. Layla (Live At Party At The Palace, 3 June 2002) – Eric Clapton
10. Why (Live at Party At The Palace, 3 June 2002) – Annie Lennox
11. Everything I Do (I Do It For You) (Live at Party At The Palace, 3 June 2002) – Bryan Adams
12. With A Little Help From My Friends (Live at Party At The Palace, 3 June 2002) – Joe Cocker

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.