Mudhoney return with roaring new track Paranoid Core

(Image credit: Emily Rieman)

Mudhoney have released a stream of their brand new single Paranoid Core.

It’ll feature on the band’s upcoming album Digital Garbage, which is set to arrive on September 28 via Sub Pop. It’s their 10th album and first since 2013’s Vanishing Point.

Speaking about the album, vocalist Mark Arm says: “My sense of humour is dark, and these are dark times. I suppose it’s only getting darker.”

He adds: “I’ve tried to keep things somewhat universal, so that this album doesn’t just seem like of this time. Hopefully some of this stuff will go away.

“You don’t want to say in the future, ‘Hey, those lyrics are still relevant. Great!’”

Arm is joined by guitarist Steve Turner, bassist Guy Maddison and drummer Dan Peters – and they’ll head out on tour in support of Digital Garbage from next month.

They have dates planned in North America, Europe and the UK.

Mudhoney Digital Garbage tracklist

1. Nerve Attack
2. Paranoid Core
3. Please Mr. Gunman
4. Kill Yourself Live
5. Night and Fog
6. 21st Century Pharisees
7. Hey Neanderfuck
8. Prosperity Gospel
9. Messiah’s Lament
10. Next Mass Extinction
11. Oh Yeah

Mudhoney - Digital Garbage

Mudhoney - Digital Garbage
Mudhoney return with their 10th album and first work since 2013’s Vanishing Point. It features blistering lead single Paranoid Core, with the band heading out on the road later this year for live dates around the world.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.