Mike & The Mechanics announce new album Out Of The Blue

Mike & The Mechanics

Mike & The Mechanics have announced that they’ll release a new album this spring.

It’s titled Out Of The Blue and it’ll launch on April 5 on CD, Deluxe CD, LP and on digital and streaming platforms.

The album will feature re-workings of some of the band’s best-loved tracks, including The Living Years and Over My Shoulder, along with three brand new songs: One Way, What Would You Do and the new single Out Of The Blue, which can be listened to below.

The Deluxe CD will also include six acoustic tracks: Don’t Know What Came Over Me, The Best Is Yet To Come, The Living Years, Beggar On A Beach Of Gold, Another Cup Of Coffee and Over My Shoulder.

Mike Rutherford explains: “Having toured with the Mechanics over the last 10 years, I have heard the old songs change a bit each year with Andrew Roachford and Tim Howar singing and the same band playing. 

“In some cases they have been extended and developed, so it seemed a good idea to record these versions in the studio.

Anyone who has seen us live will, I’m sure, like to hear the old ones in this form

Mike Rutherford

“Anyone who has seen us live will, I’m sure, like to hear the old ones in this form as they show how the two singers work so well together – especially on a song like Get Up, which has become a double lead vocal.”

Rutherford adds: “Recording the unplugged version was like in the old days – down the stairs into a basement studio not 50 yards away from Trident Studios where we recorded Genesis’ second and third albums.

“We recorded these live and Tim and Andrew led the songs with great vocal performances, and we mixed it as we recorded it like in the past. No wonder albums took a maximum of three weeks to complete then! 

“We have also written and recorded three new songs which show the Mechanics next stage – I hope!”

While Mike & The Mechanics are currently on the road on the Looking Back Over My Shoulder tour, it’s also been revealed that they’ll be special guests of Phil Collins for six shows in June.

Find out further details below.

Mike & The Mechanics: Out Of The Blue
1. One Way
2. Out Of The Blue
3. What Would You Do
4. The Living Years
5. Beggar On A Beach Of Gold
6. Get Up
7. Another Cup Of Coffee
8. All I Need Is A Miracle
9. Silent Running
10. Over My Shoulder
11. Word Of Mouth
12. Don’t Know What Came Over Me (deluxe CD/digital)
13. The Best Is Yet To Come (deluxe CD/digital)
14. The Living Years (deluxe CD/digital)
15. Beggar On A Beach Of Gold (deluxe CD/digital)
16. Another Cup Of Coffee (deluxe CD/digital)
17. Over My Shoulder (deluxe CD/digital)

Phil Collins tour dates with Mike & The Mechanics
Jun 02: Vienna Ernst Happel Stadion, Austria
Jun 04: Lyon Groupama Stadium, France
Jun 05: Stuttgart Mercedes-Benz Arena, Germany
Jun 07: Berlin Olympiastadion, Germany
Jun 08: Aarhus Ceres Park, Denmark
Jun 10: Bergen Bergenhus Festning, Norway

Mike & The Mechanics: Out Of The Blue

Mike & The Mechanics: Out Of The Blue
Mike & The Mechanics will release their album Out Of The Blue in April. It features re-workings of some of their best-loved tracks along with three brand new songs.

Scott Munro
Louder e-commerce editor

Scott has spent 35 years in newspapers, magazines and online as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014 before moving to the e-commerce team in 2020. Scott keeps Louder’s buyer’s guides up to date, writes about the best deals for music fans, keeps on top of the latest tech releases and reviews headphones, speakers, earplugs and more. Over the last 10 years, Scott has written more than 11,000 articles across Louder, Classic Rock, Metal Hammer and Prog. He's previously written for publications including IGN, the Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald newspapers, covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to tech reviews, video games, travel and whisky. Scott's favourite bands are Fields Of The Nephilim, The Cure, New Model Army, All About Eve, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Drab Majesty, Marillion and Rush.