Metallica share lockdown Creeping Death rehearsal footage

(Image credit: Metallica)

Metallica have uploaded two videos to their Instagram stories account (opens in new tab) showing them playing together at their HQ.

The band can be seen playing the intro to Creeping Death, with Lars Ulrich, Kirk Hammett and Robert Trujillo wearing face masks, with the footage captured in the last 24 hours.

Could the band just be back together to jam, or could they possibly be rehearsing for some sort of lockdown performance? Or perhaps they’re just getting some time in before their South American tour, which is still scheduled to take place in December.

The video clip will only be available for 24 hours, so be quick if you want to see the band in action.

Earlier this week, Metallica shared a video of their performance of Moth Into Flame from their upcoming S&M2 release.

S&M2 is set for release on August 28 on 2CD, 4LP, collectible coloured vinyl, Blu-ray, a Deluxe Box set – and as a Fifth Member exclusive Super Deluxe Box, which is limited to just 500 copies.

S&M2 was captured during Metallica’s two shows with the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra at the city’s Chase Centre in September 2019 – with both nights organised to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the original S&M album.

Metallica previously released Nothing Else Matters and All Within My Hands from S&M2.

Metallica: S&M2 (opens in new tab)

Metallica: S&M2 (opens in new tab)
Metallica's two landmark shows with the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra from September 2019 are documented on this new live release. The concerts were lined up to mark 20 years since the original S&M album.

Metallica: S&M2

Set 1
1. The Ecstasy Of Gold
2. The Call Of Ktulu
3. For Whom The Bell Tolls
4. The Day That Never Comes
5. The Memory Remains
6. Confusion
7. Moth Into Flame
8. The Outlaw Torn
9. No Leaf Clover
10. Halo On Fire

Set 2
11. Intro To Scythian Suite 
12. Scythian Suite Opus 20 II: The Enemy God And The Dance Of The Dark Spirits (by Sergei Prokofiev)
13. Intro To The Iron Foundry
14. The Iron Foundry, Opus 19
15. The Unforgiven III
16. All Within My Hands
17. (Anesthesia) Pulling Teeth
18. Wherever I May Roam
19. One
20. Master Of Puppets
21. Nothing Else Matters
22. Enter Sandman

Scott looks after and updates Louder’s online buyer’s guides and also scouts out the best deals for music fans from every corner of the internet. He's spent more than 28 years in newspapers and magazines as an editor, production editor, sub-editor, designer, writer and reviewer. Scott joined our news desk in the summer of 2014, where he wrote extensively about rock, metal, prog and more, before moving to the eCommerce team full-time in 2020. Scott has previous written for publications including IGN, Sunday Mirror, Daily Record and The Herald covering everything from daily news and weekly features, to video games, travel and whisky.